Professional Doctorates at the Centre for Psychoanalytic Studies

Why choose Essex? | Course Finder | Video Gallery | About us

Doctorate in Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy
Doctorate in Psychodynamic Psychotherapy
Doctorate in Analytical Psychology

Our professional doctorates are made up of two parts: a clinical training component followed by a research component. The clinical training component consists of psychotherapy training that has led to registration with the British Psychoanalytic Council (BPC) or the Council for Psychoanalysis and Jungian Analysis (CPJA) of the United Kingdom Council for Psychotherapy (UKCP).

The research component, normally three years of part-time study, offers a structured method of continuing professional development aimed at enhancing your research skills and contributing to the development of the field. It consists of methodology seminars, research workshops and writing, under supervision, a 40,000-word thesis.

The combination of the clinical and research components leads to a Doctorate in Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy, Psychodynamic Psychotherapy or Analytical Psychology.

If you are interested in applying you should, in the first instance, submit a CV to, giving full details of clinical training and experience, and a brief outline (approximately 300 words) of your potential research topic.

We also offer opportunities to study for an entirely research-based PhD (three years full-time, six years part-time).

We will be holding a series of open events this year, in which interested people can learn more about the professional doctorate and discuss ideas for research. These events will be facilitated by Professor Karl Figlio, Research Director of the Centre for Psychoanalytic Studies.

8 June from 6.30pm-8.30pm | London Centre for Psychotherapy, 32 Leighton Road, London NW5 2QE

For further information, and to register your interest in attending an open event, please visit our webpage or contact:
T 01206 874554

Wivenhoe Park, Colchester CO4 3SQ, United Kingdom. T +44 (0)1206 873333 
Copyright 2010 University of Essex.